About the tournament.

The tournament began in 2001 with Principal taking over as the title sponsor in 2007. Since 2007, the event has raised over $53.7 million for Iowa children’s charities–a number we aim to grow year after year. The Principal Charity Classic is an annual and award-winning PGA TOUR Champions event dedicated to investing in the future of Iowa kids

Join us at Wakonda

Tournament quick facts.

Title Sponsor: Principal Financial Group®
Tournament Organizer: Eventive Sports
Location: Wakonda Club, 3915 Fleur Dr., Des Moines, IA 50321
Purse: $2 million ($300,000 to winner)
Field: 81 players
Format: 54-hole stroke play (three rounds)
Beneficiaries: Iowa Children’s Charities

2023 Champion: Stephen Ames

*(WC) Wakonda Club, (GOCC) Glen Oaks Country Club, (TCI) Tournament Club of Iowa

Past champions.

2023 Stephen Ames -17 (WC)
2022 Jerry Kelly -18 (WC)
2021 Stephen Ames -12 (WC)
2020 COVID
2019 Kevin Sutherland -17 (WC)
2018 Tom Lehman -13 (WC)
2017 Brandt Jobe -14 (WC)
2016 Scott McCarron -15 (WC)
2015 Mark Calcavecchia -12 (WC)
2014 Tom Pernice Jr. -12 (WC)
2013 Russ Cochran -11 (WC)

2012 Jay Haas -16 (GOCC)
2011 Bob Gilder -14 (GOCC)
2010 Nick Price -14 (GOCC)
2009 Mark McNulty -10 (GOCC)
2008 Jay Haas -10 (GOCC)
2007 Jay Haas -12 (GOCC)
2006 Gil Morgan -16 (GOCC)
2005 Tom Jenkins -9 (TCI)
2004 D.A. Weibring -9 (GOCC)
2003 Don Pooley -13 (GOCC)
2002 Bob Gilder -13 (GOCC)
2001 Jim Thorpe -14 (GOCC)

We’ll see you at Wakonda Club.

Wakonda is a classic parkland-style golf course designed by William Langford and opened for play in 1922. The course is known for its challenging layout, beautiful scenery, and impeccable conditioning. It is considered to be one of the finest golf courses in Iowa and has been ranked among the top 100 courses in the United States.